Chicken Spinach Parmesan

You guys.  I know.  It’s been forever.  Life sort of got in the way of my cooking recently, and when I did do a bit of cooking in the last two months, it was either a disaster (stories to come) or a total bore.  Neither are post-worthy.  You can all thank me for sparing you the misery.

But now that we are settled in a new kitchen (it’s bigger!  and prettier!) and back from several trips out of state, I made this little gem and it was delicious.  And pretty healthy.  And when I left and then returned to the house a few hours after dinner, the scent of this dish lingered and still smelled wonderful, which to me has always been a sign of a good meal.

I hesitate even to tell you where I found it, because perhaps it will gather dust in your bookmark folder as it did mine for far too many weeks while you silently pre-judge it.  It claims it is health food, moreover it claims it is good for anemia, which is just not appetizing.  I’m sorry to tell you that this recipe hails from Women’s Health.  Yes.  I can feel your disappointment from here, but trust me when I tell you this doesn’t taste like health food or like it should fit into the category of (and I quote) “inactive woman diet plans”.  Sigh.  Make it this week and rise above your mockery.  You’ll be happy you did.

Chicken Spinach Parmesan

Olive oil
Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (one per person unless your grocers’ breasts are unusually hearty)
Italian seasoned bread crumbs (I had to search high and low for a brand that didn’t use high fructose corn syrup – no I am not joking – godspeed in your quest)
Grated parmesan
Marinara sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 small onion, diced
3 handfuls baby spinach leaves

Are you harboring just a little aggression?  Good.  Pound your chicken to about 1/4 inch thickness (I left mine a little thicker, they’re more forgiving and less dry that way), then sprinkle with bread crumbs, cheese, salt, and pepper, pressing so the crumbs stick (I just dumped those four dry ingredients in a shallow bowl and did a dry dredge of sorts instead, which is why I left out amounts in the ingredient list – just use the proportions that seem tastiest to you). Now heat a little olive oil in a medium sized pan over medium heat.  Once it’s nice and hot, throw down the chicken and cook for about 3-4 minutes on each side, maybe a little less depending on how thin you pounded those poor pieces.  Once they are cooked through, take them out of the pan and then throw in your onion, garlic, and about a tablespoon more of olive oil.  Let those soften up for a couple minutes, and then add the spinach and let it wilt (this takes maybe 30 seconds) and then add marinara to taste.  Are you a very saucy person?  Then use that whole jar.  Not a passionate tomato lover?  Use just enough to gloop together the spinach and onions.  Now pour  the sauce over your chicken and serve.  I put the whole business over some whole wheat pasta, but that’s not totally necessary.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment